Anthology of Finnish Piano Music, Vol. 4 OSKAR MERIKANTO (1868-1924): Album-leaf, Op. 3, Romance, Op. 12, 2 Impromptus, Op. 44, Piece, Op. 76/2, Song, Op. 92/1, ERKKI MELARTIN (1875-1937): 3 Stücke, Op. 8, Song from Lappland, Rain, Op. 52/4, Barcarolle, Op. 59/1, 6 Stücke, Op. 118, LEEVI MADETOJA (1887-1947): Little Fairy, Op. 31/3, Old Memories, Op. 31/4, Jardin de la mort, Op. 41.

Catalogue Number: 01M043

Label: FC Records

Reference: FCRCD-9718

Format: CD

Price: $17.98

No Longer Available

Description: A more full-blooded Romanticism animates this recital with highlights being Merikanto's very melancholy, hyper-Romantic Russian G sharp minor Impromptu standing out from his other pieces which are closer to salon style piano pieces. Melartin provides some vivid tone-pictures: Die Nacht - the third piece of Op. 8, a gentle rain which suddenly becomes a torrential downpour (op. 52/4), followed by a lovely Barcarolle while his Op. 118 pieces are decidedly otherworldly - a witch, a "Trolls' Dance", "Will o' the Wisp", "Secret Forest" - and delightfully represented. Madetoja's Gallic sensibility cools down a well-chosen, full (78 min.) collection of little-known Finnish music. Jouni Somero (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.